CENTRAL PENNSYLVANIA

MUSHROOM CLUB

Next Event:

Log inoculation (mushroom cultivation) workshop Saturday, March 30

at the Lion's Community Park in Pine Grove Mills

This is a members only, hands-on workshop where the club supplies instruction, tools, logs, spawn, and wax for each member that participates to take home one inoculated log. Additional logs may be purchased for $20 each if we have any remaining at the end of the event.

 

We will most likely be using Oyster mushroom spawn this year (as long as we can get the appropriate logs) after many years of Shiitake inoculation. The members who attended the planning meeting felt that the change would be refreshing. The techniques and tools involved will be the same as used in Shiitake inoculation but we will be harvesting Oysters from these logs.

 

Plan to get your hands (and clothes) dirty and bring a plastic garbage bag to cover your log - to protect your vehicle from the dirt and wax that will be on the log. Dress to be outside for a few hours. We will start at 1:00 PM.

 

2019 events schedule

Saturday, March 30, log inoculation event at the Lions Community Park in Pine Grove Mills

 

Saturday, April 27, mushroom walk and ID session at Bald Eagle State Park

 

Saturday, May 11, Mushroom walk and ID session at Canoe Creek State Park

 

Saturday, June 22, Mushroom walk and ID session at Shawnee State Park

 

Saturday, July 20, Mushroom walk and ID session in the Allegheny National Forest

 

Friday - Sunday, August 9-11, The 2019 Bill Russell Foray at the Sieg Center near Lamar PA

 

Sunday, September 22, Mushroom walk and ID session at Black Moshannon State Park

 

Sunday, October 20, Mushroom walk and ID session at Whipple Dam State Park

 

Sunday, November 10, Fall social at the Baileyville Community Hall. Program to be determined

 

Last years (2018) events

 

 

Sunday, February 18, Dr. Barrie Overton will be showing us around his lab at Lock Haven University and talking about DNA sequencing of mushrooms.

 

Sunday, March 25, Members only, log inoculation workshop at the Lion’s Club Park, Pine Grove Mills, PA.

 

Sunday, April 29, Mushroom walk and ID session at Whipple Dam State Park.

 

Sunday, May 20, Mushroom walk at Spring Creek Canyon, State College, PA.

 

Sunday, June 24, Mushroom walk at Greenwood Furnace State Park.

 

Sunday, July 22, Mushroom walk at Alan Seeger Natural Area.

 

Friday evening through Sunday, August 10 - 12, The 2018 Bill Russell Foray with special guests Arleen and Alan Bessette at the Seig Center near Lamar, PA.

 

Sunday, September 16, Mushroom walk at Hairy John State Park near Woodward, PA.

 

Sunday, October 14, Mushroom walk at Sinnemahoning State Park.

 

Sunday, November 11, Club social at the Baileyville Community Hall.

 

 

All events start at 1:00 PM unless otherwise noted

Central PA Mushroom Club

71 Long Lane East

Rimersburg, PA 16248

cpmc31@yahoo.com