CENTRAL PENNSYLVANIA

MUSHROOM CLUB

Next Event:

Saturday March 28 at 1:00 PM

Log inoculation workshop at the Lions Community Park in Pine Grove Mills

 

We will once again be inoculating aspen logs with Oyster Mushroom spawn. Each participating member may take a log home to fruit. Instruction, tools, supplies, and of course, logs provided by the club.

 

We will be outside and working, so dress for the weather and for getting dirty. Bring safety glasses if you have them - the club has some to loan. Also, bring a plastic garbage bag to cover your log for the ride home - the logs will have wax on them which is difficult to remove from interior car surfaces.

 

We ask that you plan to stick around to help with clean-up.

 

This is a members-only event. To join, please download, print and fill out the application form. The completed form can be mailed with payment to: Central PA Mushroom Club, 71 Long Lane East, Rimersburg, PA 16248 or, you can pay in person at the event.

 

If there are logs remaining after every member has taken one, they may be purchased for $20. each.

 

2020 events schedule

Saturday, March 28, log inoculation event at the Lions Community Park in Pine Grove Mills

 

Saturday, April 25, mushroom walk and ID session at Canoe Creek State Park

 

Saturday, May 9, Mushroom walk and ID session at the Lower Trail, Etna Furnace Access.

 

Saturday, June 20, Mushroom walk and ID session at Shawnee State Park

 

Saturday, July 18, Mushroom walk and ID session at Reed's Gap State Park

 

Friday - Sunday, August 7-9, The 2019 Bill Russell Foray at the Sieg Center near Lamar PA

*Bonus walk Saturday, August 29, at the Gallitzin State Forest - Babcock Division near Winbur, PA.

 

Sunday, September13, Mushroom walk and ID session at Black Moshannon State Park

 

Sunday, October 18, Mushroom walk and ID session at Cooks Forest State Park

 

Sunday, November 15, Fall social at the Baileyville Community Hall. Program to be determined

 

Last years (2019) events

 

Saturday, March 30, log inoculation event at the Lions Community Park in Pine Grove Mills

 

Saturday, April 27, mushroom walk and ID session at Bald Eagle State Park

 

Saturday, May 11, Mushroom walk and ID session at Canoe Creek State Park

 

Saturday, June 22, Mushroom walk and ID session at Shawnee State Park

 

Saturday, July 20, Mushroom walk and ID session in the Allegheny National Forest

 

Friday - Sunday, August 9-11, The 2019 Bill Russell Foray at the Sieg Center near Lamar PA

 

Sunday, September 22, Mushroom walk and ID session at Black Moshannon State Park

 

Sunday, October 20, Mushroom walk and ID session at Whipple Dam State Park

 

Sunday, November 10, Fall social at the Baileyville Community Hall. Program to be determined

 

All events start at 1:00 PM unless otherwise noted

Cancelled due to inadvisability of having a large group of people sharing space and tools

We plan to have a small group of club members inoculate the logs - which were already cut - and we will make them available at a later date. None of the details have been worked out yet so, stay tuned.

 

We are very sorry to have to cancel this event and  others as well but any action - or inaction - that we can take to stop or slow the spread of COVID-19 must be done.

Central PA Mushroom Club

71 Long Lane East

Rimersburg, PA 16248

cpmc31@yahoo.com