CENTRAL PENNSYLVANIA

MUSHROOM CLUB

Next Event:

Saturday February 22 at 1:00 PM

Short program by Bill Russell and special access to the Kneebone Mushroom Reference Collection at Penn State University

 

Bill Russell is a mushroom expert and author of the book Field Guide to the Wild Mushrooms of Pennsylvania and the Mid-Atlantic.

If you have ever heard Bill speak you know that he is always engaging and informative.

 

Professor Emeritus of Botany and Plant Pathology, Dr. Leon R. Kneebone directed mushroom research at Penn State for twenty-six years. After his retirement in 1978 he donated his private library to Penn State's University Libraries. Read more here.

 

The collection is located in the Paterno Library which is connected to Pattee Library. Library staff will be able to direct you as needed.

 

We recommend parking in the Nittany Parking Deck for a short walk to the library. Most surface lots on campus are now reserved even on the weekends (this is a recent change).

 

2020 events schedule

Saturday, March 28, log inoculation event at the Lions Community Park in Pine Grove Mills

 

Saturday, April 25, mushroom walk and ID session at Canoe Creek State Park

 

Saturday, May 9, Mushroom walk and ID session at the Lower Trail, Etna Furnace Access.

 

Saturday, June 20, Mushroom walk and ID session at Shawnee State Park

 

Saturday, July 18, Mushroom walk and ID session at Reed's Gap State Park

 

Friday - Sunday, August 7-9, The 2019 Bill Russell Foray at the Sieg Center near Lamar PA

*Bonus walk Saturday, August 29, at the Gallitzin State Forest - Babcock Division near Winbur, PA.

 

Sunday, September13, Mushroom walk and ID session at Black Moshannon State Park

 

Sunday, October 18, Mushroom walk and ID session at Cooks Forest State Park

 

Sunday, November 15, Fall social at the Baileyville Community Hall. Program to be determined

 

Last years (2019) events

 

Saturday, March 30, log inoculation event at the Lions Community Park in Pine Grove Mills

 

Saturday, April 27, mushroom walk and ID session at Bald Eagle State Park

 

Saturday, May 11, Mushroom walk and ID session at Canoe Creek State Park

 

Saturday, June 22, Mushroom walk and ID session at Shawnee State Park

 

Saturday, July 20, Mushroom walk and ID session in the Allegheny National Forest

 

Friday - Sunday, August 9-11, The 2019 Bill Russell Foray at the Sieg Center near Lamar PA

 

Sunday, September 22, Mushroom walk and ID session at Black Moshannon State Park

 

Sunday, October 20, Mushroom walk and ID session at Whipple Dam State Park

 

Sunday, November 10, Fall social at the Baileyville Community Hall. Program to be determined

 

All events start at 1:00 PM unless otherwise noted

Central PA Mushroom Club

71 Long Lane East

Rimersburg, PA 16248

cpmc31@yahoo.com