Walk begins at 1:00 PM. Arrive early for a chance to visit before the walk.

 

Encompassing most of the land immediately surrounding Glendale Lake, Prince Gallitzen State Park has a good mix of forest and field habitat. If conditions are good we should find some interesting mushrooms to discuss.

 

We will be meeting at pavilion no.1 by the Pickerel Pond. It is just off Beaver Valley Road on the north- west side of the lake. GPS coordinates are:

N 40.68196 W -78.558776

 

 

 

Saturday, March 25, Members only, log inoculation workshop at the Lion’s Club Park, Pine Grove Mills, PA. We had a great turnout and a lot of fun. Thanks to all who helped make this a success. Special thanks to Chris and John for cutting and hauling the logs.

 

Saturday, April 22, Presentation by Britt Bunyard, editor of Fungi Magazine followed by a mushroom walk. Talk starts at 12:30 PM and will be in room 334 East Campus Science Center on the campus of Lockhaven University.

 

Saturday, May 13, Mushroom walk at Spring Creek Canyon, State College, PA.

 

Saturday, June 17, Mushroom walk at Parker Dam State Park near Clearfield, PA.

 

Saturday, July 15, Mushroom walk at Reeds Gap State Park near Milroy, PA.

 

Friday evening through Sunday, August 11 - 13, The 2017 Bill Russell Foray at the Seig Center near Lamar, PA.

 

Sunday, September 17, Mushroom walk at Cook Forest State Park near Cooksburg, PA.

 

Sunday, October 15, Mushroom walk at Prince Gallitzin State Park, near Gallitzin and Altoona, PA.

 

Sunday, November 19, Potluck and program at the Baileyville Grange, in Pennsylvania Furnace, PA.

 

 

NEXT EVENT

Mushroom walk and ID session at Prince Gallitzin State Park

Sunday, October 15

2017 events schedule

 

CENTRAL PENNSYLVANIA

MUSHROOM CLUB

All events start at 1:00 PM unless otherwise noted

Central PA Mushroom Club

PO Box 450

Lemont, PA 16851

cpmc@yahoo.com

CENTRAL PENNSYLVANIA

MUSHROOM CLUB

 

Saturday, March 19 members only Shiitake log inoculation workshop.

 

Saturday, April 30 mushroom walk at Trough Creek State Park

 

Saturday, May 21 spring potluck and mushroom walk at Hummerhaven Farmstead near Millerstown

 

Saturday, June 25 mushroom walk at Oil Creek State Park

 

Saturday, July 23 mushroom walk at Prince Gallitzin State Park

 

Friday, Saturday and Sunday, August 12, 13 and 14 the 2016 Bill Russell Foray at the Sieg Center near Lamar

 

Sunday, September 25 mushroom walk at the Union County Sportsmens Club in Weikert

 

Sunday, October 16 mushroom walk at Whipple Dam State Park south of Pine Grove Mills

 

Sunday, November 20 fall potluck and program on mycotoxins by Penn State professor Gretchen Kuldau at the Baileyville Grange Hall

 

All events except the Foray start at 1:00 PM

Central PA Mushroom Club

PO Box 450

Lemont, PA 16851

centralpamushroomclub@gmail.com

CENTRAL PENNSYLVANIA MUSHROOM CLUB